An idea that is not mine and is not new

Once, when a coworker who I also considered a friend received exciting career news, my first thought was ‘why not me?’. I instantly felt sorry for myself. I was trying. I wanted to get an interview or a promotion. My thoughts raced. I’m not proud of it, but I am human.

I had a moment of awareness. I stopped. I noticed my response. I tried to turn it around.

There’s a story that has been told over and over. That there’s not enough to go around. That you need to collect as much as you can to protect yourself. That the success of others takes away from yours.

It’s not true for a second.

Can you entertain something for me?

We all deserve to have what we need to be happy, to be comfortable, and to live how we want. The Earth, in her resilience, keeps giving to us. There is enough for all of us.

There are two sides to this beautiful coin that follow: you are allowed to be happy for others in their success & you can shine as bright as you truly are.

The first truth: Let yourself feel joy for others. Build up the people around you, support them, root for them.

The ultimateΒ truth: you can be great. You can allow yourself to be all that you are. Be humble, yes. And know that you are a brilliant, unique, temporary expression of life, literally made from the stars. Don’t hold anything back.

Leave a Reply

