2015 Bibliotherapy

When in doubt, read. Joan Didion calls it “going to the literature”.

I suppose I have subscribed to this belief for quite a while without knowing it. Reading and gathering information has always been my impulse when I don’t know what to do.

And what some people have known intuitively for generations – that stories can assist in our healing – is now agreed upon by modern scientists. Bibliotherapy can assist with depression and other mood disorders.

Give yourself permission to relax and read. Open your mind and learn something new.

The following are books I’ve read in the last year. Read on, my loves.

  1. The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion.Β I had to. Surprisingly I hadn’t read this until recently, but it came to me at the right time.
  2. Summer of My Amazing Luck by Miriam Toews. I picked this book off the shelf because I liked the cover design and I turned out to be a delightful story about grief and hope. This was her first novel, I think.
  3. Redefining Realness by Janet Mock. Everything is possible when you read this woman.
  4. The Gifts of Change by Marianne Williamson. She inspires me and challenges my thinking (2 of the greatest achievements of an author).
  5. This is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz. Beautiful and heartbreaking, not for the faint of heart.
  6. Feeling Good, the New Mood Therapy by David Burns. An instruction manual on dealing with your own thoughts and moods.
  7. Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling. Sometimes you just need to let yourself be entertained.

What have you been reading?

 

Leave a Reply

