Vegan on O’ahu

I am so thankful for the recent trip I had to the island of O’ahu! I am thankful for my partner encouraging me to travel and that I made the decision to make it happen.

I wasn’t expecting all the amazing food! I searched online before the trip and there weren’t many articles or tips on O’ahu restaurants. I was expecting to survive on fresh fruit (which would be totally fine). I did eat a lot of fruit, but also discovered some delicious places to eat!

The Beet Box Cafe (Hale’iwa, on the North Shore)

DSC_0137 (3)
Portabella ‘stache-wich and the Burrito Babe

IMG_2612

‘Hello’ burger and Falafel burger

A vegetarian restaurant in the small town of Hale’iwa – I think the only one on the North Shore. It was so so so good. Everything we had was perfect. It was all super healthy and delicious and they are quick!

Go here! It’s worth a trip to the North Shore. It’s breathtakingly beautiful up there, so go to the beaches too.

Banan (Diamond Head)

DSC_0203 (2)

DSC_0214 (2)

Vegan ice cream truck! What else do I need to say? Well, the ice cream is vegan but I think there is honey in a few toppings, so watch out for that.

The ice cream isΒ all made from fruit. They have banana (obviously) but also other unique creations and toppings. I got a kale-mint ice cream that was so refreshing & bae got chocolate shavings on the banana one.

We stopped here after hiking the Le’ahi crater (known to some as Diamond Head), since it’s in the perfect location for an apres-hike treat!

Peace Cafe (South King Street)

IMG_2439
Burrito, bbq plate, and caesar salad
IMG_2448
Ice cream: chocolate with fudge and mint chip

I liked the vibe at this cafe and everything was super healthy. I always order a bbq plate if it’s available and this one had bbq tempeh, cornbread, coleslaw and rice.

Zpizza (Ala Moana)

IMG_1640
Berkeley pizza

A chain restaurant that has a few vegan pizza options and it was right near Ala Moana Beach, which is a delightful place to watch the sunset.

Downbeat Diner & Lounge (Chinatown)

IMG_2379
Oreo milkshake
IMG_2382
‘Carnivore’ burger made vegan (!) and garlic fries
IMG_2459
Caramel milkshake
IMG_2461
BRUNCH: tofu scramble, bacon, cajun home fries, and french toast

Our first stop after landing on the island, since it was close to our bus transfer spot downtown. It’s not a vegan place, but almost anything on their menu can be made vegan. It was hearty & delicious, and the atmosphere was relaxed and inviting.

As you can see, we ate here more than once!


 

We also went to Celestial Natural Foods in Hale’iwa (expensive but lots of options) and Ruffage Natural Foods (close to Waikiki, but I didn’t think the food was great).

There are a lot of places listed on HappyCow that we didn’t get to try because we were only in Honolulu for a couple of days. Next time, I plan to try out a few more: Simple Joy, Water Drop Vegetarian House (we tried to go, but it was closed on weekends), Greens & Vines, and Ai Love Nalo in Waimanalo.

 

 

Leave a Reply

