10 affirmations for the holiday season

Take extra good care of yourself this holiday season. Use these affirmations to insulate yourself from the stress and anxiety many of us experience around the holidays. These can be used to prevent stress as a daily practice, or only when you feel like you need them.

However you use these affirmations, I hope they will help you through this season by reminding you of your strength, patience, and value.

  1. I don’t owe anyone anything.

You are allowed to say ‘no’ to invitations and events. Let go of the guilt for taking time to yourself (or for declining events that you don’t actually want to go to!).

  1. I deserve to be happy.

At this time of year, we sometimes get caught up in all the things we should be doing and all the ways we should be giving ourselves away. Remember that life is meant to be enjoyed.

  1. I appreciate my family and the lessons they teach me.

Old wounds can be re-opened and it’s easy to be triggered by the people who have known you your whole life. We can shift our perspectives by focusing on the things we learn from our family, even if sometimes what we learn is that we don’t want their habits. Or we notice how much we have evolved over the years.

  1. I have infinite patience.

This one sounds like it wouldn’t work, but it really, really does (for me). You can try it if you like in situations where you feel like you are running out of patience. Take a deep breath, repeat these words, and dig deep. You have it in you.

  1. I am strong and resilient.

This is an antidote for when you notice yourself being too hard on you. Remind yourself of the things you’ve done that required strength or the things you’ve survived.

  1. Everything is temporary.

To notice the temporal nature of all our experience helps us to let things pass instead of holding onto them. Let things come and let things go.

  1. My life is my own creation.

You have choices. You have power of what you make of your life. In whatever small way you can, start taking some of that power back and making choices  for you.

  1. I love myself and so I take care of my physical body and mind.

Remind yourself to drink water, eat some fruit and vegetables, let you body relax. Take a few moments each day to do things for yourself and see this as an act of love.

  1. I am doing my best and that is enough.

You can only do your best. Keep going, keep trying. This statement also helps me remember that I can’t control other people – only me. I do my part and leave the rest to them. It takes a lot of pressure off.

  1. I am worthy of love.

A lot of parts of the holidays seem to equate self worth with material things or how many people come to your party or how many invitations you get. None of these things is a measure of your worthiness of love. You are inherently worthy and you deserve to treat yourself like it is so.

 I am wishing you self love and learning at the end of 2016.

May we take what we’ve learned and keep growing in 2017 and beyond. 

Leave a Reply

